The Engine Shed Team

Engine Shed is run by a small and dedicated team who work to develop our strategy, projects, marketing, venue, and front of house services.

Engine Shed is operated by the Science Research Foundation (SRF), which also operates SETsquared Bristol.

 

Engine Shed and SETsquared Bristol are currently seeking a part-time Marketing Manager. Apply here.

Learn more about our journey
  • Director

    Nick Sturge

    Nick is responsible for the direction and development of Engine Shed and its projects, and developing relationships with wider networks. He is also CEO of Science Research Foundation (SRF), which runs Engine Shed.

    E: Nick.Sturge@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 07973 361179

  • Associate Director

    Briony Phillips

    Briony champions Engine Shed’s work on the scale-up business ecosystem, runs organisational development projects, supports strategic and operational management, and designs and develops projects relating to our broader organisational goals.

    E: briony.phillips@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 0117 915 1273

  • Operations Director

    Karen Drake

    Karen is responsible for finance, tenant liaison, facilities, and overall operations, and co-ordinates the admin teams. She works closely with the wider team on the development of Engine Shed 2.

    E: Karen.Drake@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 07513 119800

  • Assistant Venue Manager

    Paige Scarman

    Paige manages our meeting and event spaces, is responsible for the planning of major events and VIP visits, and ensures the services offered at Engine Shed are consistent with visitor requirements.

    E: Paige.Scarman@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 0117 903 1100

  • Partnerships Manager

    Lorraine Fairbanks

    Lorraine is responsible for the Diverse Workforce for the Future project, inspiring young people in tech and creative careers. She also manages the Members' Lounge partnerships, sponsorship, and VIP events.

    E: Lorraine.Fairbanks@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 0117 9151271

  • Assistant Accountant

    Helen Langmead

    Helen works in Engine Shed and SETsquared as Assistant Accountant, preparing monthly management accounts, assisting the operations team, and reviewing systems and processes.

    E: Helen.Langmead@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 0117 903 1100

  • Operations Co-ordinator

    Faye Travers

    Faye manages the day-to-day building, maintenance and security features at Engine Shed, and supports the Director and Operations Director.

    E: Faye.Travers@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 0117 943 4833

  • Front of House Host

    Ali Groves

    Ali works as our Front of House Host. Her role includes hosting all visitors to the building, liaising with tenants, and assisting in the smooth running of Engine Shed meeting rooms.

    E: Ali.Groves@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 0117 903 1100

  • Front of House Host

    Elen Caldecott

    Elen works as our Front of House Host. Her role includes hosting and visitors to the building, liaising with tenants, and assisting in the smooth running of Engine Shed meeting rooms.

    E: Elen.Caldecott@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 0117 903 1100

  • Finance Assistant

    Yasmin Popat

    Yasmin works in Engine Shed and SETsquared finance team, providing customer support, assisting in the preparation and submission of reports.

    E: Yasmin.Popat@engine-shed.co.uk
    T: 0117 915 1289

  • Venue Assistant

    Zoe Jordan

    Zoe works part-time as a Host. She is also frequently on duty at the diverse evening events held at Engine Shed.

    E: zoe.jordan@engine-shed.co.uk

The SETsquared Bristol Centre is the largest tenant in Engine Shed. With about one third of their member companies resident in the building, they are a very important part of our DNA. Meet the SETsquared team and learn more about their work below.

Learn more about SETsquared

SHARE YOUR IDEAS AND QUESTIONS

Whether you’ve got an idea that you’d like to share, a project that could benefit from collaboration, or you just want to ask a question about using and visiting Engine Shed, get in touch with our friendly team today.

Get in touch